Is the honeymoon over?

I think the honeymoon period is over.

Despite his unwillingness to leave when I arrive (a good sign, right?), tonight he was almost in tears as we walked to the car. I was queued in last night when he wanted to sleep in our bed (unusual), and was completely sound asleep this morning when I went in to wake him (also unusual). On our way home this afternoon, I heard a variety of complaints including:

“I’m so tired!”

“I’m never going to school again.”

“I’m so frustrated. I don’t know what Maestra is saying.”

“My head hurts.”

“I just wish there was some place to take a nap.” (This, my friends, comes from a kid who gave up naps before he was three.)

I know this is normal. I was hoping it was just with other kids, not mine. Granted, he’s been fighting a cold. He claims he’s sporting an ear infection too. I’ll have to keep an eye on that.

Tonight we kicked back and relaxed, ate a decent dinner, read our books, applied some warm ear drops, and got into bed with the lights out 10 minutes earlier than normal. I think it’s time to push it back 10 minutes a night for a few days and see if that helps.

Here’s hoping that tomorrow he’s energized to tackle this again without complaint, and that this ear thing isn’t brewing a cocktail of infection.

Leave a Reply

